November 2015 Time Trial Results

We had 28 Road Runners participating in tonight’s final time trial of this year’s competition on what turned out to be quite a pleasant evening given the heavy fog earlier in the day.

Mae McIsaac won the women’s race in 30-58, and Dougie O’Hare took the men’s prize in 32-17. Well done to both of them and everyone else who got down to Strathclyde Park to compete this evening.  Jim Tracey picked up the Wooden Spoon (The Jim Tracey Award) in another less than mediocre time.

There were some excellent performances last night, too many to list.  However, a special mention must go to Clare Hughes who beat her PB and recorded 25:08, and is the second fastest female in the 11 year history of the Time Trial.  Chris Macdonald also had an outstanding run, the fastest by a male athlete this season, in fabulous time of 21:33.

Commiserations go to Gillian McCaffer who was first female across the line but unfortunately took the wrong route and had to be classified as a DNF.  She was awarded a miniature of Buckfast to help drown her sorrows

Tommy Sneddon and Tracey Lamont have won this year’s male and female championships. Well done for some fantastic performances throughout the year.

Thanks to Irene Kerr, Anne Hughes, Wendy Kerr, and Mark Gallacher for helping out this evening.

Please see the full results.


October 2015 Time Trial Results

We had a superb turnout of 31 Road Runners for this months Time Trial.  The weather Gods were good to us too as the conditions were excellent for our first Time Trial on the winter route.  We also had 3 new recruits tonight and Alec Robertson joined us after a long lay off.

Angela Downie defended her September title and took another another 40 seconds off last month’s time finishing in 30:43.  Chris Macdonald ran the fastest 4 mile Time Trial of the year in 21:43. Well done to both Angela and Chris for great performances.  Well done to everyone who made the effort to compete tonight and continue maintain the Time Trial’s popularity as it celebrated its 11th anniversary tonight.

Jim Tracey picked up the wooden spoon (The Jim Tracey Award) in a time best forgotten, however, he did have a hard race at the Tollcross Parkrun on Saturday and we should not be too hard on him.

Thanks to Irene Kerr, Anne Hughes, Lynsey Sneddon and Peter Blackmore for helping out this evening.

Please see the full results.  The Time Trial 2015 League Table has been updated too.


Tollcross Parkrun 3 October – RRs Championship Race

We had 16 Motherwell AC road runners taking part in the penultimate championship race.  The results are set out below.

It was a fantastic day for the club with Craig Mackenzie finishing 1st male with Nick Hughes not far behind him in 2nd place.  Nick’s sister Clare Hughes was first female and Emma Stevenson took second place.  Mark Gallacher was first male V40.  Excellent performances all round.

The Championship and League tables have been updated.

1Craig MACKENZIE00:17:42
2Nicholas HUGHES00:18:43
5Clare Elizabeth HUGHES00:20:31
6Mark GALLACHER00:20:45
9Marcus WHYTE00:21:26
10Emma STEVENSON00:21:29
12Kevin DURNIAN00:22:11
13Thomas SNEDDON00:22:13
22Ross MCLEAN00:23:26
24Susan STEWART00:23:36
26Craig WHITESIDE00:23:46
31Angela DOWNIE00:25:02
34Gary WOOD00:26:09
40Jim TRACEY00:27:04
45Lesley ROSS00:27:41
52Patricia ALLEN00:29:35


Dumfries Half Marathon Championship Race – Results

Here are the results for the Dumfries Half Marathon.

Congratulations go to Tracey Lamont for  her achievement of 1st Female V40, and to Chris MacDonald who finished 4th overall.  Well done to the rest of the MAC RRs who took part in this race.

4Christopher MacDonald77.35
9Ben Smith81.36
65Marcus Whyte99.05
72Craig Whiteside100.01
75Edward Toal100.31
81Mark Gallacher102.06
110Angela Downie109.25
112Tracey Lamont110.20

The 2015 Road Running Championship and League table have been updated.


Club Track Championships Time Table

The Motherwell Athletics Club Track Championship takes place on Sunday 13th September 2015 at Wishaw Sports Centre, Alexander St, Wishaw, North Lanarkshire ML2 0HQ.

Registration is open from 9:15am, and the first event is the Road Runners 3km at 10:00am.

Please see the Timetable for the day for other events.


Road Runners 3k Track Championships 2015

Championships on Sunday 13 September 2015 – 10:00 AM start.

This year’s Road Runners 3km race will be a conventional staggered start handicap race based on (pro-rata) the September Time Trial estimated times.

Please see the handicaps here.

The race will be the first of the day and will start at 10.00 AM prompt, so please get along to registration for around 9.30 AM and have time for a warm up.

The numbers competing in the 3K Handicap have not been great in the last couple of years (to say last year’s blanket start did not go down well is a bit of an understatement), so please let’s go for a bigger turn out this year. Given the staggered start and the handicap system, everyone has a chance of winning and no one will be embarrassed.  Please spread the word and help make the 3K Handicap race a bit more successful this year.

After the race it would be great if RRs could stay behind to help out with the track and field element of the championships.

Joe is on holiday and John Hughes has agreed to step in to the breach and will be organising the race this year.

September 2015 Time Trial Results

We had 22 RRs competing in this evening’s time trial, the last one on the summer course around the Loch. Again we had some great performances with Clark Pheely and Bobby Wotherspoon putting down impressive markers for next month’s race.

First female was Angela Downie in 31:29 almost 1 minute faster than her previous best this year, and Ross Burton won the men’s race in 24:41 also nearly 1 minute faster than his recent best.  This month’s wooden spoon went to Dougie Waddell who was not that far behind the rest of the field.

Thanks to Irene Kerr, Wendy Kerr, Ewen Cameron, and Mark Gallacher for helping out this evening.

Please see the full results and the Time Trial 2015 League Table.


Recent News