November Senior Endurance Time Trial & Time Trial Championship 2017 Results

November 2017 Time Trial

We had a brilliant turn out of 35 athletes for the final race in this year’s Time Trial Championship. The weather was cold but thankfully the ice had not affected the paths for the duration of the race. Well done to everybody who made it down for tonight’s race.

Tracey Lamont won the women’s race breaking the 29 minute mark for the first time, and John Burns won the men’s race in PB of 27:39. Gary Wood picked up the wooden spoon in a slower than usual time.

The full results with the winners of this year’s champions will follow tomorrow.

Thanks to Anne Hughes, Lynsey Sneddon, Ally Robb, and Angela Downie for helping the race go smoothly once again.

Full results on the 2017 Time Trial Championship Page.

2017 Time Trial Championship Winners

Following the race we are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s championship.


  • 1st Equal – Elaine Jamieson and Tracey Lamont (52 points)
  • 2nd – Joyce Allardice (51 points)
  • 3rd – Patricia Allen (46 points)


  • 1st – Jim White (52 points)
  • 2nd – Christie Nisbet (43 points)
  • 3rd – Dougie O’Hare (40 points)

Well done to our medallists and everyone who took part in this year’s championship. Over the course of the season 25 women and 59 men took part in the 10 championship races.

Thanks once again for positively supporting the event for another year.


As above see the 2017 Time Trial Championship Page for full details and past results.

West District XC Results

In addition to supporting the event we had 17 athletes taking part in the relays. Well done to all our competitors and special mention to the Men’s Masters team (5th) and the Women’s Masters team (8th).

Sen Women 31st

  • Clare Hughes 17:15
  • Emma Hunter 19:50
  • Patricia Allen 25:50:00

Masters Women 8th

  • Joyce Allardice 19:39
  • Clare Barr 19:46
  • Phyllis Hands 21:18

Sen Men 21st

  • Chris Macdonald 14:35
  • Paul Burns 14:44
  • Graeme Kennedy 16:31
  • Craig Mackenzie 15:25

Masters Men 5th

  • Allan Cameron 14:40
  • Alan Tait 15:48
  • Jim White 15:50
  • Ewen Cameron 16:03

Masters Men Incomplete

  • Neil Richardson 16:45
  • John Burns 19:08
  • Craig Whiteside 22:11

September 2017 Time Trial Results

We had 28 athletes taking part in this evening’s Time Trial Handicap Race. The weather gods were with us once again and we had some great performances (full results to follow tomorrow). Miranda Richmond won the women’s race in 30:37. John Burns won the men’s race in 29:12. Peter Blackmore picked up the wooden spoon in an uncharacteristically slow time. Well done to Miranda, John, Peter and everyone who made it down to Strathclyde Park tonight.

Thanks to Irene Kerr, Margaret Hoolaghan, Nick Hughes, Andrew Steel, and Douglas & Gayle Samson for helping make things run smoothly.

Please see the 2017 Time Trial Championship page for the league tables and full results.

July 2017 RR Time Trial

We had a smaller than usual turnout of 20 athletes for tonight’s time trial.  Perhaps, the start of the school holidays and the rather strange weather for the time of the year had something to do with it.

That said, we had some great performances.

First male in a 26:11 was Lorne Crawford with 2 minutes off his PB and first female was Alison Murray in 29:19 which was a wee bit faster than last month’s time.  The wooden spoon surprisingly went to Susan Stewart who is training for next week’s Clyde Striders Ultra Relay.

Thanks to Lynsey Sneddon, Anne Hughes, Ross Thomson, Tommy Sneddon and Andrew Steel for making things run smoothly once again.

See the Time Trial 2017 Championship page for the full results and league tables.

Foodbank Collection at July 2017 Time Trial

The next time trial shall take place on Tuesday 4th July 2017 at 6:30pm, starting at The Boathouse.

The club shall be collecting for the local food bank again at the Time Trial.  The following items are required if you wish to donate.

  • Super Noodles
  • Tinned Custard
  • Tinned Meat
  • Tinned Potatoes
  • Savory Rice
  • UHT Long Life Milk (Whole and Semi Skimmed)



Senior Endurance June 2017 Time Trial Results

We had a great turnout 37 runners taking part in this evening’s race. The weather was pleasant and we had some excellent performances (more about that in the full results tomorrow). Miranda Richmond won the women’s race in 33:51 and Neil Richardson won the men’s race in 24:41. Catherine Kolb had a bit of an off night and picked up the Wooden Spoon (The JIm Tracey Award).

Louise Speirs was presented with a cake on the occasion of her birthday.

Thanks to Anne Hughes, Lynsey Sneddon, Tommy Sneddon, Louise Speirs and Lesley Ross making things run smoothly on a busy evening.

A special mention to Neil Richardson who won the race and broke the 25 minute mark and Mark Gallacher who dipped under 24 minutes for the first time. Well done guys.

The results are now available on the 2017 Time Trial Championship page.  Remember to click the June tab at the top of the 2017 Time Trial Results spreadsheet.

Bus for Brian Goodwin 10k Race – Friday 16 June

A 30 seater bus has been booked for anyone wishing to go to the Brian Goodwin 10K on Friday 16 June.

Elaine Jamieson is co-ordinating and will be at training sessions on Tuesday and Thursday evenings to take payments for the bus which will cost £10.

Names will not be confirmed until money has been paid.

The bus will  leave The Boathouse at 5.30 pm prompt and will leave for the return journey at 9.30 pm, giving us a chance to enjoy a few well earned refreshments after the run.

If past years are anything to go by, we finish the night off in the Electric Bar when we arrive back in Motherwell, so there will also be a drop off at the Electronic Bar.

Please be aware the car parks at Strathclyde Park (including The Boathouse car park) close at 9pm!


Road Runners February 2017 Time Trial – Handicaps and Traffic

The next time trial takes place on Tuesday 7th February 2017 at 6:30pm, starting at The Boathouse Gym, Strathclyde Park.

Please see the handicaps and the Time Trial Championship page.

Access to Strathclyde Park for Tuesday’s Time Trial

The main entrance to Strathclyde Park is closed to traffic on Tuesday 7 Feb.  You can still get to the Boathouse one of the following ways.

  1. From the Bothwell end at the Raith interchange.
  2. By parking at the Palace Grounds and walking through the tunnel.
  3. From Community Road in Bellshill and driving past the new cemetery then on to the middle of the park.

Please spread the word.



Recent News