LAAA T&F Championships, 2 September 2017

A huge well done to the 26 athletes who made the short journey to East Kilbride on Saturday, 2 September to take part in what was the last competitive athletic event of the summer season before our Club Champs. There were many truly impressive performances across the whole club with lots of new PBs and plenty of medals, however, we feel that Stephen Ross, one of our senior athletes, who won gold medals in both the 100m and 200m races,deserves a special mention.

Stephen not only PB’d and won the gold medal in the 200m but was also awarded the Churchill Trophy for being the first athlete over the line in his 100m race. This trophy is solid silver (named in honour of Churchill’s leadership during the war), was first presented in 1945 to the winner of senior men’s 100 yard dash (now 100m) and has inscribed on it the name of an Olympian who was part of the GB squad in the 1948 Olympics! Incredibly, this is the second time Stephen has won this award. Congratulations Stephen!!

Full results are as follows:

Stephen Ross: 100m – 11.41 gold medal and  awarded the Churchill Trophy; 200m – 22.58(PB) gold medal,
Joseph McCluskey: 100m -12.12 (PB) bronze medal;
Christopher Yau: 100m – 12.37; 200m – 25.08 (PB) bronze medal,
Emma Hunter: 800m – 2.32.17 gold medal,
Jim White: 1500m – 4.39.26 (PB) gold medal,
Mark Gallacher: 1500m – (SB) 4.49.91

Michaela Dwyer: 100m – 13.47 (PB) bronze medal; 200m – 27.47 (PB) gold medal,
Gabriel McCluskey: 200m – 26.19 (PB) bronze medal; 400m – 59.29 (PB) silver medal,
Dylan Drummond: 800m – 2.11.94 (PB) bronze medal,
Christopher Pollock: 800m – 2.13.35 (PB)

Sophie Dwyer: 100m – 13.31 (PB) gold medal; 200m – 27.78 (PB)
Jenna Booth: 100m – 14.50
Cavan Marie Ryan: 100m – 14.83 (PB); LJ – 4.00m (PB),
Joey Leach: 800m – 2.32.20 bronze medal,
Jay Steele: 800m – 2.19.40 (PB); SP – 8.58 (PB) gold medal,
Stuart Russell: 800m – 2.20.40 (PB),
Zaki Achat: 800m – 2.38.01 (PB)

Lucy Robertson: Javelin – 16.51 (PB) silver medal,
Hannah Dwyer: 100m – 14.64 (PB) bronze medal; 200m – 30.40 (PB),
Emma Kelly: 100m – 15.01; 800m – 2.48.34 (PB),
Emma Gilchrist: 100m – 15.10; 200m – 31.62 (PB); LJ – 3.67 (=PB),
Ava Lenzi: 100m – 15.58; 200m – 31.95 (PB); 800m – 3.01.47,
Katie Howley: 100m – 15.58 (PB); SP – 5.20,
Emma Campbell: 100m – 17.31 (PB); 200m – 36.88 (PB)

Nathan Steele: 60m – 10.60(PB); 600m – 2.11.24 (PB); LJ – 2.69
Liam Ross: 60m – 9.70 (PB); 600m – 2.12.78;LJ – 3.35m (PB)

These fantastic results are testament to the hard work and focus of our young (and not so young!) athletes throughout the year. Thanks to the team at the LAAA (Joanne, Steven and Bob) and to officials for their preparation and organisation on the day. Many thanks also to coaches and parent volunteers (David Gilchrist and Joe Lenzi) for helping out again, and to all parents for supporting this event. We hope you enjoyed the day.

LAAA Track Relays: 29 April 2017

A big well done to all the MAC athletes who competed at the LAAA track relays in a very cold and windy East Kilbride!  All of our five teams performed very well, with one of the two U13G’s 4x100m teams winning a bronze. The Senior Men’s team also took home the silver medal in a super race with a close finish.

Provisional Results:

U13G (A) 4x100m: (Bronze Medal)
Emma Gilchrist; Hannah Dwyer; Ava Lenzi and Emma Kelly (1.00.6)

U13G (B) 4x100m:
Amelie Kipre; Niamh Morris; Sophie O’Reilly and Katie Howley (1.05.0)

U13G 3x800m:
Ava Lenzi; Katie Howley and Emma Kelly (9.37.2)

U15G 4x100m:
Cavan Marie Ryan; Abbie Freel; Taylor Frame and Chloe Lang (1.00.0)

Senior Men: (Silver Medal)
Joseph McCluskey; Cameron Martin; Adam Laird and Christopher Yau (00.48.3).

Many thanks to everyone who helped at the event and came along to support our athletes. Thanks also to the organisers and officials for what was a fun competitive event.

LAAA Road Relays 2016

We had an excellent turnout of 26 Senior Endurance athletes participating.  The women took silver and bronze, and the men took bronze too.  Well done to all of our athletes for fantastic performances.


Motherwell A – 2nd Place – 47:51

Katelyn McGeever 15:18 
Emma Morris 16:15
Jo Clark 16:18

Motherwell B – 3rd Place – 52:37

Clare Barr 17:30
Susan Stewart McKillop 16:35
Tracey Lamont 18:32

Motherwell C – 6th Place – 56:03

Gillian McCaffer 18:51
Mae McIsaac 18:55
Phyllis Hands 18:17

Motherwell D – 8th Place – 01:00:27

Elaine Jamieson 18:02
Barbara Hogg 20:29
Pat Allen 21:56


Motherwell A – 3rd Place – 53:39

Allan Cameron 13:22
Craig McKenzie 13:23
Chris McDonald 13:19
Stephen Allen 13:35

Motherwell B – 7th Place – 01:01:18

Mark Gallacher 14:33
Scott Dickson 15:41
Brian McLinden 15:31
Stuart MacGregor 15:3

Motherwell C – 14th Place – 01:08:35

Jim White 16:17
Peter Blackmore 17:15
Tommy Sneddon 17:05
Ross McLean 17:58

Incomplete Motherwell D

Gary Wood 18:46
Andrew Scott 18:58



LAAA T&F Championships 2016

Entries for the LAAA T&F Championships at Wishaw on 3rd September 2016 are now available via Entry Central.

This event is pre-entry only this year and all entries must be received by 27th August 2016, at the latest.  No entries will be taken after this date or on the day.

Only members of Lanarkshire clubs qualify for medals, so please make sure your membership is up to date.  If you are unsure of which event(s) to enter please consult your coach before doing so.

Once again, it would be great to see a good MAC turnout at this local event.

LAA Relay Results 2016

The confirmed team results have been made available tonight for the LAAA Relays which took place at Wishaw Sports Centre on 10 May 2016.

What a great night for MAC – well done everyone! Apologies to those medalists who didn’t get photographed on the night with their medals.

Results (All 4x100m):

U13B1.00.33rdStuart Russell; William Bailey; Calum Agnew; Stuart Hawkins.
Senior Men45.71stJoseph McCluskey; Tom Timmons; Stephen Ross; Alan Robertson.
U11G1.04.72ndAva Lenzie; Hannah Dwyer; Emma Gilchrist; Lucy Robertson.
U13G1.01.86thCavan Marie Ryan; Katie Howley; Taylor Frame; Jenna Booth.
U15G(A)56.23rdSophie Dwyer; Iona Orr; Joey Leach; Rachael Knox.
U15G(B)59.111thNiamh McGinn; Jenny Ferguson; Christy Davis; Amie Gallacher.
U17W56.52ndOlivia McKale; Michaela Dwyer; Katrina McEwan; Olivia Kydd.
Senior Women57.32ndAmanda Nicol; Claire Ross; Fiona Steele; Kirsty Irwin.


LAAA XC Results 2015

Well done to all our athletes who represented the club at the LAAA cross country championships on 21st Nov.

Full results are:

  • U13G – Zoe Hawkins (17th – 10:23)
  • U13G – Cavan Marie Ryan (35th – 11:36)
  • U17W – Jenny Ireland (2nd – 21:23)
  • U17W – Kirsty Ferguson (5th – 23:14)
  • U17M – Luke Poutney (3rd – 17:24)
  • SW – Kirsty Irwin (6th – 21:56)
  • SW – Phyllis Hands (13th – 23:31)
  • SM – Craig Mackenzie (9th – 35:41, 2nd SM)
  • SM – Daniel Martin (23rd – 38:47, 2nd U20M)
  • SM – Scott Dickson (31st – 40:15)
  • SM – Marcus Whyte (39th – 42:08)
  • SM – Ross Burton (46th – 43:47)
  • SM – John Burns (52nd – 47:56)
  • SM – Peter Blackmore (57th – 50:12)
  • SM – James Proffitt (58th – 50:22)

Thanks to all the parents who came to support on a freezing cold day and to Bob McCrum and Lesley Ross for volunteering with registration and the finish funnel.

Lanarkshire Track Championships

The Lanarkshire Amateur Athletics Track Championships take place on Saturday 29th August, at John Wright Sports Centre East Kilbride.

Motherwell Athletics Club are co-hosting the event with Law & District.  If any club members can spare a few hours to assist at the event it would be greatly appreciated.

Any volunteers should meet at John Wright Sports Centre at 11:30am on 29th August.


Recent News