February Time Trial

February Time Trial Full Results now available

Once again, congratulations go to first female Clare Hughes (25:10) and first male Paul Harkins (26:31). Patricia Allen picked up the wooden spoon following a well below par outing tonight. Thanks to all of the runners who made it down to Strathclyde Park and braved the Baltic conditions.

The detailed results are now on the club website and can be accessed via the following link.


Senior Endurance January 2018 Time Trial Results

We had 23 athletes competing in the first Time Trial of the season.  This one was just a warm up for the competition proper which runs from February to November (no points awarded for this one).  None the less, we still have winners and the wooden spoon.

First male was Douglas Samson and first female across the line was Gayle Samson – well done to the Samsons and everyone who made it down to Strathclyde Park for the race.  Dougie O’Hare picked up the first wooden spoon of the season.

Thanks to Anne Hughes, John Hughes, Lynsey Sneddon and all of the helpers for getting the 2018 TT season underway.

See the full results and the 2018 Time Trial Championship page for all championship details.

Senior Endurance January 2018 Time Trial – Handicaps

Please see the handicaps for the senior endurance January 2018 Time Trial which takes place on Tuesday 9th January 2018 @ 6:30pm from The Boathouse Gym, Strathclyde Park.

Please remember this race does not count for points but does count for markers and as one of your last three best times.  We still have our male and female winners and the Wooden Spoon to present after the race.

There is also a new 2018 Time Trial Championship page which has the rules, handicaps and will have the rolling results/tables on it as the season progresses.

Remember – you must be a member to take part in the Championships so Join Us now!


January 2018 Time Trial

Reminder – The first Time Trial of the year takes place next Tuesday 9 January meeting at the Boathouse Gym reception @ 6.30 pm.

1. This race is not part of the championship.
2. It does count for markers and the best of your last three times.
3. We are planning to trial a new course which will be tested out again on Thursday night.
4. Remember to wear hi-viz and a head torch if you have one.
5. If you are free to help please reply to the post on Facebook.

We do need a couple of people with torches at the tunnel.

Senior Endurance Christmas Time Trial 2017 and Road Runner of the Year

We had 22 athletes and a dog (Zara McIsaac) taking part in this year’s Christmas Handicap. Whilst this is a fun event we still have winners and a wooden spoon. So the first male was our very own Coach John Hughes (his first time trial win in 7 years) in 25:57 (his fastest time this year) and first female was Susan Stewart in an excellent time of 27:09. Winner of the wooden spoon was Mae McIsaac in a very mediocre time, although she was just pipped at the post by Peter Blackmore and Phyllis Hands.

Thanks to Santa’s helpers for making the race run so smoothly – Anne Hughes, Lynsey Sneddon, Tommy Sneddon, and Angela Downie.

See the full results (December tab) however note this is not a championship race.

Back at the Electric Bar Jim White was voted Road Runner of the Year by his fellow athletes. Well done Jim from your all in the Senior Endurance section.

Jim White is this years “Road Runners, Road Runner of the Year”

Toy Drive at Christmas Time Trial

It was decided at the committee meeting last night, that instead of a Secret Santa at the Christmas handicap race we’re going to do something a bit different.

We will be donating to a Toy Drive ran by the Motherwell Community Trust & the MFC Podcast to make sure underprivileged children in our area have a present on Christmas morning. All contributions are going to the Salvation Army in Bellshill.

So rather than bringing a gift for a fellow clubmate we ask that you bring a toy (any value, no matter how big or small) to the Xmas handicap race and the club will pass these gifts on.

Toy Drive!
Toy Drive!

November Senior Endurance Time Trial & Time Trial Championship 2017 Results

November 2017 Time Trial

We had a brilliant turn out of 35 athletes for the final race in this year’s Time Trial Championship. The weather was cold but thankfully the ice had not affected the paths for the duration of the race. Well done to everybody who made it down for tonight’s race.

Tracey Lamont won the women’s race breaking the 29 minute mark for the first time, and John Burns won the men’s race in PB of 27:39. Gary Wood picked up the wooden spoon in a slower than usual time.

The full results with the winners of this year’s champions will follow tomorrow.

Thanks to Anne Hughes, Lynsey Sneddon, Ally Robb, and Angela Downie for helping the race go smoothly once again.

Full results on the 2017 Time Trial Championship Page.

2017 Time Trial Championship Winners

Following the race we are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s championship.


  • 1st Equal – Elaine Jamieson and Tracey Lamont (52 points)
  • 2nd – Joyce Allardice (51 points)
  • 3rd – Patricia Allen (46 points)


  • 1st – Jim White (52 points)
  • 2nd – Christie Nisbet (43 points)
  • 3rd – Dougie O’Hare (40 points)

Well done to our medallists and everyone who took part in this year’s championship. Over the course of the season 25 women and 59 men took part in the 10 championship races.

Thanks once again for positively supporting the event for another year.


As above see the 2017 Time Trial Championship Page for full details and past results.

Time Trial (and Foodbank Collection) – November 2017

Remember remember…it’s time trial night on Tuesday which also means we’re collecting as usual for the foodbank.

It tends to be the same things they are short on so the list this month is:

  • Milk (whole and semi-skimmed)
  • Tinned meat
  • Tinned potatoes
  • Tinned fruit
  • Savoury rice

As always though, they are always grateful for donations of any non-perishable foods.

See the Time Trial 2017 Championship page for handicaps, recent results and the League Tables.

RR New Winter Time Trial Route

The next Road Runners Time Trial will be on our new winter route.

We will run the course next Thursday (28th September) to give runners the chance to try it out and give any feedback.

Paul Harkins has taken kilometre splits on his watch and logged it on TomTom

We’d encourage you to view this.

Screenshots of each km (and the last 400m-ish) are below.

1st KM
2nd KM
3rd KM
4th KM
5th KM
6th KM
Last 400m
Full Route

You can download all of the images from this link.


September 2017 Time Trial Results

We had 28 athletes taking part in this evening’s Time Trial Handicap Race. The weather gods were with us once again and we had some great performances (full results to follow tomorrow). Miranda Richmond won the women’s race in 30:37. John Burns won the men’s race in 29:12. Peter Blackmore picked up the wooden spoon in an uncharacteristically slow time. Well done to Miranda, John, Peter and everyone who made it down to Strathclyde Park tonight.

Thanks to Irene Kerr, Margaret Hoolaghan, Nick Hughes, Andrew Steel, and Douglas & Gayle Samson for helping make things run smoothly.

Please see the 2017 Time Trial Championship page for the league tables and full results.

Recent News